alvin.teo

Learn 2 Give

Posted in Diary, Photography, Travel by Alvin on January 3, 2010

That’s the project which I had a chance to be a part of, working with English Club members from Ubon Ratchathani University and volunteering at Phosai Pittayakarn School, Ubon Ratchathani.

I arrived at the school on Monday, 23rd of November 2009. I was greeted by the school’s deputy director and teachers upon arrival. After a round of brief introduction, I was then brought to my dorm which I will be staying for 2 weeks.

DSC_0669

Day 2, I was given the honor to address the students and teachers at the assembly ground. The deputy director briefly translated my speech to Thai/Lao which got everyone laughing. The whole assembly protocol reminds me of those secondary school days. National anthem, flag raising and the disciplinary board teachers making rounds with cane in hand.

DSC_0643

The daily routine was pretty much the same. I was arranged to teach 5 or 6 different classes everyday. I practically used the same module which includes self introduction and vocabulary game. We sang a birthday song for a birthday girl and I taught the lower forms student songs I learnt from the English Camp. Some threw me questions on my travel experiences, my major in university, about my country Malaysia and the most frequently asked would be ‘What is you favorite Thai food?’ and ‘Do you have a girlfriend?’

DSC_0591

The district level sports carnival was held at the school on the first week. Students were dismissed from classes for 3 days and so were the teachers. I had a chance to witness some really good takraw match during the carnival. I spent the rest of my free time travelling, courtesy of the school teachers who brought me to sight see some provinces around Ubon Ratchathani.

DSC_0596

DSC_0605

DSC_0613

DSC_0619

Around a national park, Phra Maha Chedi Maha Mongkol, Mukdahan town and by the Mekong River.

I have my dinner at the girl’s dormitory every evening. It’s very nice of the students and teachers to prepare toothsome homecook Thai food for dinner.

DSC_0639

From food to table manners and culture, it was a great experience learning from the teachers. Garden flowers and fried insects were some exotic food which I’ve tried and they were awesome. Sticky rice was my staple food for dinner with occasional Thai desert after meal. I was well fed to a point I think I grew, horizontally.

The school teachers organized a small farewell party on Thursday, my 2nd last day in this school. The party was held at Songkorn village, situated at the banks of Mekong River.

DSC09352

I was also presented a souvenir from the school staff by the school director.

DSC09365

DSC_0677

DSC_0675

The school cohort gave alms to monk from the local temple on the eve of King’s birthday. The event started with prayers and ended with alms collection. That was also the last day of my teaching assignment in the school. I was again honored to gave a goodbye speech just before leaving.

I learnt and experience more than what I gave. The whole process of being a volunteer and getting involved in this project was one of the best I’ve had. A big thank you to ECC members of UBU and Phosai Pittayakarn School teachers for this project and definitely the great hospitality.

DSC_0649

Being able to involve in community projects while travelling is precious. It enriches the whole backpacking experience and definitely inspire me to continue giving.

Learn2give project @ Phosai Pittayakarn School, 23/11/2009 – 4/12/2009

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jang , a former ECC staff said, on January 19, 2010 at 8:50 am

    lovely, cozy, pretty and ….

    nice pics…I ove it

    How can I get a lovely vorunteer like you to come to my little poor rural school?

  2. Alvin said, on January 19, 2010 at 8:52 am

    Thanks Jang! 🙂
    I would love to return to Ubon when I have the chance.
    🙂

  3. nongnit said, on January 31, 2010 at 4:40 am

    Hi Alvin
    Are you remember me? I am a teacher at Phosai Pittayakarn School.
    My name is nongnit. I stay with my students in dormitory. Where are you now
    and How are you. everyone at Phosai Pittayakarn School think of you all time.

  4. Alvin said, on January 31, 2010 at 5:24 am

    Hi
    Yes. I am fine, thank you. How are you?
    I am back in Malaysia, back in the university.
    Miss all of you too.

    Take care and all the best!

    🙂

  5. fine said, on February 1, 2010 at 12:02 pm

    hi alvin
    how are you

    (I am girl’s dormitory at Phosai Pittayakarn school.)

    • Alvin said, on February 1, 2010 at 12:21 pm

      Hi. I am fine here. Thank you.

  6. nongnit said, on February 1, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    Hi Alvin
    I am fine, thank you. I hope that you come back to Phosai Pittayakarn School.

    • Alvin said, on February 1, 2010 at 12:20 pm

      Glad to hear that. I will when I have the chance to do so. 🙂 Take care


Leave a Reply

