alvin.teo

Leaving Siem Reap

Posted in Diary, Photography, Travel by Alvin on January 15, 2010

10 December 2009

I spent an extra day in Siem Reap after the trip to Angkor.

DSC_1111

A laidback day catching up with random backpackers over breakfast, reading and continue to explore the town by foot. I bought a tie at the night market which almost all the stalls were selling the same stuff.

It was a long day on the 10th. I took a direct bus from Siem Reap to Poipet-Aranyaprathet and my final destination, Bangkok. We had to change a few buses before making our way out of the town. The whole process of getting out of Siem Reap took almost 5 hours, thanks to the long queue at both the Cambodia and Thailand custom. 

DSC_1134

Headed straight to Hualamphong after alighting at Khao San Road. The initial plan of grabbing a train ticket to Butterworth foiled and I settled for Hat Yai instead.

DSC_1132

I spent the last day in Bangkok at Urban Age Hostel, which I hastily made a reservation a day before arriving. Loitered around the infamous Patpong before dining at Subway and the rest of the night catching up on emails, facebook and news.

The best thing of the day was, I had the dorm all to myself. Haha

Leave a Reply

