alvin.teo

When I Wasn’t Surfing

Posted in Photography, Travel by Alvin on September 13, 2010

DSC_0015 (Large)

DSC_0016 (Large)

DSC_0020 (Large)

I caught the famous barong dance at Batu Bulan as the first stop, the day I ventured out of Kuta. It was a showcase of local myth and culture with flamboyantly exaggerated  apparel. A few kids cried at first glance.

DSC_0023 (Large)

DSC_0026 (Large)

DSC_0029 (Large)

Clad in red sarong, I went to one of the few temples open for public visitation. The Hindu temple in Bali is one of its kind, with slight resemblance to Angkor Wat in Cambodia. The rituals and religious procession looks interesting from the description board, I wish I could catch a live ceremony.

DSC_0039 (Large)

I had lunch overlooking Mount Batur at Kintamani with the company of 2 gorgeous Brazilian who shared the same 4wd vehicle as me, going around Bali. Best meal in Bali! 😛

DSC_0041 (Large)

DSC_0040 (Large)

I finally saw, smelt and almost drank kopi luwak, the proclaimed world’s most expensive coffee. The owner of the plantations was proud to say we speak the same language when her fellow countrymen in Jakarta were burning Jalur Gemilang and hurling feces at the Malaysian Embassy.

DSC_0047 (Large)

DSC_0052 (Large)

DSC_0080 (Large)

I went to Tanah Lot for sunset. I found a  grassy spot towards the end of the sunset terrace, away from the crowd and annoying restaurant owner peddling drinks. It was a breezy evening accompanied by the sound of waves and picturesque silhouette of Tanah Lot temple against the orange hue.

DSC_0088 (Large)

I stopped by the bomb memorial in the town of Kuta, just before grabbing a cup of coffee and leaving for the airport. The monument was erected on the site of the destroyed Paddy’s club on Legian St. as a memory of the deceased from the terrorist bombing in 2002.

When I wasn’t surfing, I saw a fair bit of Bali. I shall be back for more surf, adventure, underwater galore and babi guling!

Leave a Reply

